Northern Survival by Diane McGyver

Northern Survival by Nova Scotia author, Diane McGyver, is an action-packed story of adventure as a result of a plane crash where there are only two survivors in the Canadian wilderness.

One of the main characters, Olive Tweed is on vacation, doing research for a new novel. The other is a famous American actor, Jonathan Stone. Ending up on the same plane, it goes down when disaster strikes. After surviving the crash, they are at odds with each other from the very beginning of their survival quest. They can’t agree on which way they should head to get them back to civilization but Olive has some outdoors skills, a country girl, while Jonathan has none. Her logic wins out and they begin their trek through the wilderness.

They disagree on everything in the beginning. The dialogue is witty with snappy comebacks towards each other. The animosity between the two is evident. Regardless of how they feel about each other, they come to depend on each other. McGyver creates an interesting setting. The pair encounter many difficulties, lack of food, improper gear for the cold nights, wild animals, rushing rivers. Olive doesn’t have the answers for everything. The city boy learns survival the hard way and discovers something in his partner he didn’t expect.

This is a fine story. While the ending was somewhat predictable, it has a romantic touch that adds a little spice. A good read. People that like survival stories will enjoy this book.

  • Paperback : 249 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1927625440
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1927625446
  • Publisher: Quarter Castle Publishing (Aug. 25, 2020)

*Please note if you choose to purchase this book (or Kindle version) through Amazon using the link below we will receive a small commission at no extra cost to you. If you cannot see the Amazon ad below (if you are using an ad blocker, for instance) here is the link: Thanks! 

Allan Hudson is the author of the Drake Alexander adventure series, Dark Side of a Promise and Wall of War. He has a collection of short stories titled A Box of Memories. Also, the Jo Naylor series with book one, Shattered Figurine and book two – Shattered Lives. He has also written a historical novel, The Alexanders. 1911 – 1920. Vol.1, which takes the reader from Scotland to Canada, particularly New Brunswick. Two of his short stories have received Honourable Mention in the WFNB short story competition. He has been published on and Golden Ratio. He publishes the author’s blog, South Branch Scribbler. He lives in Cocagne, NB, with his wife Gloria.


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Diane Tibert
October 9, 2020 07:57

Allan, thank you for reading and reviewing my book.

allan hudson
Reply to  Diane Tibert
October 9, 2020 09:00

You’re welcome. I enjoyed it very much.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x