Once Upon An Iceberg: Errol’s Twillingate Adventure by Sheilah Lukins

Once Upon An Iceberg: Errol’s Twillingate Adventure by Sheilah Lukins is the third chapter book documenting Errol the mouse’s adventures. Errol begins this adventure by becoming unlikely friends with a dog, who offers to take him on a family vacation to Twillingate. An excited Errol quickly agrees, and the pair set off together. Errol learns along the way that the dog, Gus, has never met his father but knows that he was from Twillingate. Errol takes this as a challenge and is determined to find Gus’ father when they arrive. He meets other dogs and makes friends with mice along his journey who all help him in his search.

A #ReadAtlantic book!

Using carefully chosen descriptive language, readers can easily visualize the scene and events taking place. Paired with a few lovely illustrations by Laurel Keating, this is a great introductory chapter book for young readers. It offers an opportunity for children to envision scenes on their own, but also helps to guide them with the imagery included. Each chapter keeps you wanting to read more and leaves you wondering what other adventures Errol may be on to next.

“In this latest entry in Sheilah Lukins’ early chapter book series about Errol’s ongoing exploits, our feisty and kindhearted hero is as intrepid as ever. The chapters are short and action-packed, perfect for holding the attention of young readers.”

Lisa Doucet ― Atlantic Books Today


Sheilah Roberts Lukins is the author of For Maids Who Brew and Bake and Rain, Drizzle, and Fog. Her first children’s book, Full Speed Ahead: Errol’s Bell Island Adventure, won the 2018 Bruneau Family Children’s/Young-Adult Award, and the action-packed follow-up, Flying Ace, will be available from Breakwater Books in May. A lover of history, horses, dogs, good food, and great stories, she lives and writes in St. Philips, NL.

Laurel Keating’s illustrations charm and delight children of all ages. An award-winning artist, her work has adorned several Newfoundland children’s books, including Yaffle’s Journey, the Find Scruncheon and Touton books, Moose’s RoofElliot and the Impossible FishFull Speed Ahead: Errol’s Bell Island Adventure, and Flying Ace: Errol’s Gander AdventureOnce upon an Iceberg: Errol’s Twillingate Adventure is her tenth book.

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Breakwater Books (May 31 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 48 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1550818902
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1550818901
This article has been Digiproved © 2021 James FisherSome Rights Reserved  
Liked it? Take a second to support us on Patreon!
This entry was posted in Children and tagged , , on by .

About Melanie Métivier

Melanie is the Children's Book reviewer at The Miramichi Reader. She is a mother to two young children Adeline (3 years) and Harlow (1 year). She has a Bachelor of Health Science from Dalhousie University and previously worked as a Radiological Technologist before deciding to pursue a career in health insurance administration. She enjoys sewing, crafting, and going on adventures with her family. Having lived in all three maritime provinces, Melanie now raises her daughters with her husband in Moncton, NB.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments