Natural Selection by Diane McGyver

Natural Selection takes us to a new world. In a clever way, it also takes us to a world from the past in its methods of survival.

McGyver has created a unique setting where due to a cataclysmic event – the Devastation – the world changes. Civilization, as the characters once knew it, changes dramatically. Only the strongest and wisest survive. Gone are the comforts and security of the old world.

McGyver’s main character, Eloise, lives in seclusion with her uncle. Too young to know what life was like before she was born, her existence is peaceful and comfortable. Yet, her uncle warns her to be careful, wary of strangers. He prepares her for the unexpected. Returning from the forest, she is warned by her uncle of impending danger.

“Inside.” He grabbed the axe and put it on the workbench beside him. “Lock the door.” He gave her a hard look, his eyes filled with emotion. “Remember what I’ve taught you. Now go.”

With her uncle abducted, Eloise reluctantly sets out to find him or someone to help.

McGyver keeps our interest with colourful characters, Eloise’s special gift, Kings and armies, a world without TVs or radios, motorized vehicles or electricity. There are twists and turns and elements of intrigue, all the perfect fundamentals of a well-developed story.

For the fans of dystopian novels, Natural Selection is worth having a look at.

Diane McGyver writes stories, some long, some short. Regardless of genre, each story contains a bit of adventure, romance, survival and humour. She loves writing stories with a fantastical theme, but her current release Northern Survival is all about surviving in the wilderness after a plane crash. She’s been writing a long time, and the journey has taught her to not squander words. Each new story is more concise with less clutter than the previous.

To learn more about Diane’s books and future adventures, visit her website (

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Quarter Castle Publishing (Nov. 27 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 409 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1927625572
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1927625576
 -- Website

Growing up in South Branch, Allan Hudson was encouraged to read from an early age by his mother who was a schoolteacher. He lives in Dieppe, NB, with his wife Gloria. He has enjoyed a lifetime of adventure, and travel and uses the many experiences as ideas for his writing. He is an author of action/adventure novels, historical fiction and a short story collection. His short stories – The Ship Breakers & In the Abyss – received Honourable Mention in the New Brunswick Writer’s Federation competition. He has stories published, The Golden Ratio and his blog - South Branch Scribbler.