First Book

We Meant Well by Erum Shazia Hasan

A propulsive debut that grapples with timely questions about what it means to be charitable, who deserves what, and who…

4 weeks ago

Sleepers and Ties by Gail Kirkpatrick

Grieving Museum curator Margaret returns to her childhood home to leave behind her sister Shirley's ashes and attend the final…

4 weeks ago

Quiet Time by Katherine Alexandra Harvey

An unflinching, unchronological coming-of-age story told through vivid and mesmerizing vignettes, Quiet Time is Grace's story of resilience, bravery, and…

3 months ago

Unrest by Emma Côté

Brisk, observational, and darkly comic, Unrest is both a road trip story and a touching eulogy on life, death, and…

4 months ago

Some Hellish by Nicholas Herring

Some Hellish is a story about anguish and salvation, the quiet grace and patience of transformation, the powers of addiction…

4 months ago

Birth Road by Michelle Wamboldt

Episodic in nature, Birth Road by Michell Wamboldt tells the story of Helen, a young woman from Truro, whose life…

4 months ago

A Gelato A Day: True Stories of Family Travel, Edited by Claudia Laroye

A Gelato A Day is a collection of travel tales that highlights the good, the bad and the not-really-that-ugly of…

5 months ago

Excerpt: FINDING EDWARD, A Novel by Sheila Murray

An excerpt from Sheila Murray's debut novel, Finding Edward from Cormorant Books.

9 months ago

Secrets of the Sprakkar by Eliza Reid

The Canadian first lady of Iceland pens a book about why this tiny nation is leading the charge in gender…

11 months ago

Antonyms for Daughter by Jenny Boychuk

Antonyms for Daughter, Jenny Boychuk's poetry debut, addresses a harrowing subject: the loss of the poet's mother to addiction. Deploying…

1 year ago

The Blue Moth Motel by Olivia Robinson

The Blue Moth Motel deals with family dynamics, grief, and the concept of home.

1 year ago

Review of Pebble Swing by Isabella Wang and None of This Belongs to Me by Ellie Sawatsky

Two debut poetry collections from Nightwood Editions are reviewed by Catherine Owen, "Pebble Swing" by Isabella Wang, and "None of…

1 year ago

Even the Sidewalk Could Tell: How I Came Out to My Wife, My Three Children, and the World by Alon Ozery

What does it cost to live an inauthentic life? If anyone knows, it’s Alon Ozery. Born in Toronto to an…

1 year ago

Gold Pours by Aurore Gatwenzi

In this debut collection by emerging poet Aurore Gatwenzi, a stunning new voice emerges as she shares the experience of…

1 year ago

The Pump by Sydney Warner Brooman

For fans of Shirley Jackson and Alice Munro, a Gothic collection of stories featuring carnivorous beavers, art-eaters, and family intrigue.

1 year ago

This website uses cookies.